News Center

Peterson Health Adds New Members to Board of Directors

Kerrville, TX – Peterson Health is pleased to announce the selection of Edward Walter Koenig III and Belinda Kay Pence to the Board of Directors.

A resident of Kerrville, Koenig is the President and CEO of the Kerrville Area Chamber of Commerce. He has many notable achievements to include earning his Eagle Scout, serving as a former U.S. Diplomat earning a Commander’s Award for Civilian Service (Army), Superior Honor Award (U.S. State Department), an Expeditionary Service Award (U.S. State Department), and Afghanistan Campaign Medal (U.S. Army). a Special Forces Certificate of Appreciation (Iraq), and completion of the Leadership Kerr County program in May. Active in the community, Koenig currently serves on the board of the Kerr County Economic Development Corporation (KEDC), is a board member on the Second Chance Wounded Warrior Weekend Adventure. Steering Committee Member for the Kerrville 2050 Comprehensive Plan, is the Chairman of the Economic Development Sub-Committee, and Board Member for the Dynamic Learning Institute. He is an active Rotarian and a member of the First Presbyterian Church. Koenig earned his Bachelor of Science and Master of Science at the University of Illinois. He is married to Maria Giovanna Balestrucci and has three children, Edward Koenig, Alexandra Koenig and Giulia Danielli.

A resident of Fredericksburg, Pence was a member of the initial group that started the private Trust Company of Houston Trust. She is credited for developing the plan and compliance procedures to allow Sterling Bank to acquire a Trust Charter. Active in both the Fredericksburg and Kerrville communities, she has served as the Chair for Sterling Bank’s March of Dimes initiatives and was a committee member for Mardi Gras Kerrville in 2011. She spends much of her leisure time planting and maintaining a 10 acre vineyard at her home in Fredericksburg. Kay attended Texas A&M. She is married to Charlie and is the mother of daughter, Jessica Haveman.

Koenig and Pence will serve three-year terms and are eligible to serve two additional terms on the board of directors. The new board members join current members Mark Armstrong, Sarah Fontenot, Bill Johnston, Brian Bowers, William Morris, Jr., M.D., Bob Schmerbeck, Greg Shrader, Sue Steele, and James Young, M.D. New officers were elected at the recent annual meeting of the board. These officers include Mark Armstrong, Chair, and Bill Johnston and Sarah Fontenot, Vice Chairs.

Peterson Health President/CEO Patrick Murray appreciates the dedication and commitment required to serve as a health system board member. Shares Murray, “Our PRMC board is comprised of strong and caring community leaders. We are so very thankful for the service and commitment of outgoing Chair, Harold Wilson and Royce Itschner who recently completed their board service. Each brought a thoughtful perspective about the communities served by Peterson and provided great leadership in enhancing the quality of our work. As we continue our journey to elevate health, and each other, I am excited to welcome our newest board members and look forward to the fresh perspective and experience each will bring to our high performing board.”

Peterson Health is the area’s largest private, not-for-profit community health system in Kerr County and serves the residents of nine Hill Country counties. The modern, 124-bed medical center anchors a 35-acre campus that includes the region’s premier ambulatory care center, the Cailloux Professional Building, and the new Peterson Hospice and Home Care headquarters currently under construction. The system provides health services at 10 other locations in the region. For more information about Peterson Health visit our website at

What patients say about Peterson Health